In Review: The Murder of Roger Ackroyd

Author: Agatha Christie

The Murder of Roger Ackroyd by Agatha Christie

Format: Kindle

Genre: Fiction, Crime, Mystery

Rating: 4 out of 5.

I read “Murder on the Orient Express” by Agatha Christie at the start of this year. Since then, I have wanted to read another of M. Poirot novels.

Without spoiling anything let me tell you the plot of this book.

In the peaceful English village of King’s Abbot, the attractive widow Ferrars dies – apparently from suicide – from an overdose of veronal. We get to know that she was being blackmailed for over a year for apparently killing her abusive husband by poisoning him.

Not twenty-four hours after Mrs. Ferrars’ suicide, Roger Ackroyd – the man she had planned to marry – is murdered. Now it is up to the famous Hercule Poirot to find the murderer and he does it in style – keeping us entertained throughout with his charm and wit.

I don’t want to say anymore so I do not spoil anything for the ones that still haven’t read the book.

I am a fussy reader. Especially while reading crime and mysteries, it is very difficult for a story to hold my attention for very long. But, this book demanded my complete attention.

From the starting of the story, I became kind of Poirot Jr and started listing my suspects. By middle of the book, I was able to identify the murderer. I can tell you this murderer is a sneaky little person – hiding in plain sight.

However, even after identifying the murderer, this book kept me intrigued. I appreciated the unique way this novel was presented.

The Murder of Roger Ackroyd is one of the most well-known mysteries written by Agatha Christie and the only one to be featured in the 1001 Books To Read Before You Die list. And, this book doesn’t disappoint.

It’s been 94 years since the first publication of the book and I am as many years late in reading this gem of a book.

If you enjoy good crime & mystery novels this one is a must. Rating this book at an enigmatic 4.

Leave a comment