In Review: The Subtle Art of Not Giving a F*ck

Author: Mark Manson

The Subtle Art of Not Giving a F*ck by Mark Manson

Format: Kindle

Genre: Nonfiction, Self-help

Rating: 4 out of 5.

I got very confused while writing the review for this book.  Because I realized my experience with this book was ever-changing.

I went from fascinated to contempt and nearly skipping the book to liking the stories and getting immersed in the zen philosophy.

Here is my experience with this book.

Stage One: Fascination

At the start, I was very much captivated by the concepts of the book.

Why you may ask?

Because I found them close to what I follow in life.

I have always been zero fucks given kind of a person and someone is attesting to your thought process also having an overall philosophy around your lifestyle. Bingo! You found your homie.

Stage Two: Disappointed

Then after turning some pages I found that I was appalled by the crass language used and the author’s misogynistic tendencies.

The first 25% of the book is littered with 10 times as many fucks as I have ever may have heard in my life.

Yeah, I have been living in very polite society.

And then I came across one of my pet peeves, an author who may not always write about women in respectful language. It annoyed me to no end.

I also thought that the book was too lengthy and could have been better if the author has cut down on lengthy self-musings.

At this point, I was thinking about skipping the remaining book.

Thank the lord, I persisted and continued on my journey of this book. Which brings me to the third stage of my book journey.

Stage Three: Intrigued

Here, I realized the author has exhausted his quota of crass words. The number of fucks dwindled and misogynistic experiences were limited.

And I got captivated in the stories of Hiroo Onoda, Dave Mustain, Pete Best, and Pablo Picasso. The little snippets into the lives of these people were very intriguing and used to attest to the concepts of the philosophy.

Stage Four: Immersed in the Zen Philosophy

A lot of times I nodded to the thoughts and at other time I was not entirely in agreement but I think I do understand where the author is coming from. I started to absorb the concepts of Zen Philosophy and wanted to know more about them. I thought I have found something that aligns with my way of thinking. I learnt something important and significant. Learning that I will surely implement in my life.

You see, my journey of reading this book was kind of a real roller coaster ride. But it’s important, how you came out at the other end of it and I was happy. Ecstatic even, at the end of this book journey.

I will recommend this book to you. Keep a little open mind and you will enjoy the book. Rating it at a very solid 4.

Leave a comment