First Chapter First Paragraph Tuesday Intros #04

Happy Tuesday, friends! Every Tuesday, Diane @ Bibliophile By the Sea hosts First Chapter First Paragraph Tuesday Intros in which bloggers share the first paragraph of a book they’re reading or thinking of reading soon.

Here’s bringing you the first paragraph from the book Nineteen Eighty-Four by George Orwell.

5470

It was a bright cold day in April, and the clocks were striking thirteen. Winston Smith, his chin nuzzled into his breast in an effort to escape the vile wind, slipped quickly through the glass doors of Victory Mansions, though not quickly enough to prevent a swirl of gritty dust from entering along with him.

What do you think, have you already read it, will you read more or pass on this book?

8 thoughts on “First Chapter First Paragraph Tuesday Intros #04”

  1. I have not read this one, though I should have by now. It was not required reading for me in school and I think that’s how many first encounter it. Liked the beginning.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great opening! I read this one so long ago that it would probably feel like a new read to me, but I will still recognize and enjoy the themes. Thanks for sharing…and for visiting my blog.

    Like

Leave a comment